Objectivism Online Forum

To be an O'ist, do you have to be an Atheist?

Rate this topic

Ok, I am new to objectivism having just recently finished Atlas Shrugged (so please be kind! :) ) but I was wondering, to be an Objectivist do you have to be an atheist? Can you believe in some sort of higher power and still be an objectivist?

I ask because my mother, who introduced me to Ayn Rand, is catholic and still considers herself an objectivist, yet Rand herself was an atheist along with most other objectivist.

• Replies 150
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[T]o be an Objectivist do you have to be an atheist? Can you believe in some sort of higher power and still be an objectivist?

Objectivists don't believe in the supernatural. If your theism includes a supernatural entity, then it is not compatible with Objectivist metaphysics.

Also, Objectivists reject faith. If you believe in a god based on faith, then your epistemology is not in line with Objectivism. And if you cling to the arbitrary in the face of irrefutable logic against your god's existence, then you reject reason as your only source of knowledge, which is also contrary to Objectivism.

Edited by MisterSwig

Belief in the Catholic God requires the acceptance of a number of logical incongruities; eventually, every good Catholic will tell you that logic doesn't always apply to the divine, that God isn't limited by logic like other things are. But logic is a necessary corollary of the basic axioms at the very heart of Objectivism, all of which are undeniable and without exception. Something that exists but is not limited by logic is a 'something' whose very possibility of existence is obliterated by its own internal contradictions.

Being an atheist is one of the core requirements for being an Objectivist. A non-atheist calling themselves an Objectivist is dishonest at best.