Objectivism Online Forum

P2P currency

Rate this topic

I recently saw this video from reason.tv about Bitcoin, some sort of P2P online currency as a substitute of our current monetary system (USA).

While I like the fact that it's privatly controlled, I can't get past that it's not based off of any type of commodity. I'm new to Objectivism, so please forgive me if I'm making a mistake somwhere, but this almost has a collectivist bend to it. With actual gold, if everyone stops using it, I still have gold I could sell or trade. This seems like it suffers from some of the flaws the current American system.

I too am unable to fathom the fascination some people have with this concept, for similar reasons. I suspect that the main attraction is that it's not the Federal Reserve Note, a/k/a "fern"

Right, it reminds me of the Libertarian tendancy to fight for "Freedom of Ideas" which is more of a fight agaisnt intellectual property.

• 3 weeks later...

I'm bumping this to ask for other posters thoughts about Bitcoins. I recently learned about it and I haven't come to a firm conclusion yet. I'm having trouble seeing whether it is in fact a clever, productive form of exchange. Or if it is somehow a scam of some type. Having a foot in the world of Objectivism and free markets means you get to see how incredibly wrong many people are when it comes to economics and financial instruments. (Many people decry interest, or short selling for example).

I recently learned about BitCoins and some people I knew were talking as if it were some make money fast scheme. I followed them up to a point when I had more questions than answers at which point I dismissed as just wanting to make some easy short term money. Today however a friend of mine and I began talking about it and he explained it in more detail. I found the idea to be very interesting but I'm still erring for "needs more info".